Author Topic: PQ grid breaking our project server functionality in IE browser  (Read 4568 times)

supriya.khamesra

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
We are using PQ grid for development in project server. We are having a PDP (Project Detail Page) page on which we have 2 web parts: One is project information to carry out updates of project fields and another is content editor web part on which we are using PQ grid. We are facing some issue on this page which do not occur if we remove pqgrid.js reference.
When we perform any update in project fields and try to save the page using the project server save button then the process get stuck and give us below message as in screenshot

This message appear only when the functionality is running in IE browser. When we run the same page in chrome it works fine. Our IE version is IE 11.  It appear that there might some conflict that is appearing with PQ grid js which stucks the process. Can you please provide some suggestion what is causing the issue to occur in IE.

« Last Edit: January 09, 2018, 07:09:26 pm by supriya.khamesra »

paramvir

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6310
    • View Profile
Re: PQ grid breaking our project server functionality in IE browser
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2018, 12:57:47 pm »
That could be related to js script error which may be caused by incompatible/missing jquery / jqueryui or other dependencies of pqgrid  thereby preventing or messing up the Ajax request. First of all, open up developer tools in IE by pressing f12 or from tools menu.

Click on start capturing in Net work tab.

Then navigate to Project Detail Page, look our for any errors on Console in developer tools.

Then perform any update in project fields and try to save the page using the project server save button.

Again look our for any errors on Console in developer tools.

Also check the logs under Network tab.
« Last Edit: January 10, 2018, 12:59:44 pm by paramquery »

supriya.khamesra

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: PQ grid breaking our project server functionality in IE browser
« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2018, 06:34:03 pm »
Thanks for your suggestion.
I tried the steps provided by you and found that a call to project server service(_vti_bin/PSI/ProjectServer.svc) is returning Internal server error (500) . After trying the maximum calls it is resulting on the error pop up on save. Screenshot of Network logs is attached. 
It was giving 404 error for jquery map file. We add that file then also the error persist.
Before PQgrid we tried JQgrid and it doesn't occur with that. We are using files of PQgrid as shown in image.

Is there any updated version of PQgrid grid files available. The jquery version is v1.9.1 and PQgrid was downloaded last month.

Is any other file needs to be added to resolve the error.
 
« Last Edit: January 10, 2018, 06:36:27 pm by supriya.khamesra »

paramvir

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6310
    • View Profile
Re: PQ grid breaking our project server functionality in IE browser
« Reply #3 on: January 15, 2018, 11:47:45 am »
Do you get this error with both free and Pro versions.

Please check the server logs ( or enable error reporting in server configuration, typically web.config file ) to see the error details and reason behind 500 server errors.

supriya.khamesra

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: PQ grid breaking our project server functionality in IE browser
« Reply #4 on: January 15, 2018, 12:52:50 pm »
Hi
I have checked and found that the 500 error is occurring only when we are using the Eval version. It is not occurring when we are using the free version.

paramvir

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6310
    • View Profile
Re: PQ grid breaking our project server functionality in IE browser
« Reply #5 on: January 15, 2018, 01:47:29 pm »
Ok, were you able to check 500 error details/logs.
« Last Edit: January 15, 2018, 02:08:42 pm by paramquery »

supriya.khamesra

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: PQ grid breaking our project server functionality in IE browser
« Reply #6 on: January 15, 2018, 05:44:05 pm »
I have checked the logs but there is no specific detail for the error. It shows the same error as displayed under Network in IE.

paramvir

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6310
    • View Profile
Re: PQ grid breaking our project server functionality in IE browser
« Reply #7 on: January 17, 2018, 06:43:17 pm »
You might need to enable error reporting on your server to get error description.

Also double click on url ( where it says 500 error ) in browser console and note down the request header and body send by browser to server.

Compare that with the request header and body send by Chrome browser.

That would provide the clue what's wrong in case of IE.