Author Topic: Creating a criteria panel  (Read 201 times)

entwine.llc.wi

  • Pro Enterprise
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Consultant
    • View Profile
Creating a criteria panel
« on: August 31, 2022, 07:34:56 am »
Is it possible to create a panel to the side or top of the page that contains all of the criteria fields? My client would like a panel layout versus having to go across all the columns to view/change criteria.

I was thinking this might be possible using CSS, or perhaps by looping through all the columns using code, but I'm not sure how to do it.

paramvir

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5645
    • View Profile
Re: Creating a criteria panel
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2022, 10:52:18 am »
[ Only Pro members may read this post. ]

entwine.llc.wi

  • Pro Enterprise
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Consultant
    • View Profile
Re: Creating a criteria panel
« Reply #2 on: September 01, 2022, 08:14:02 am »
Hi,

The attached image is just the basic concept.

Ideally, I would end up with your filter row organized vertically, in an accordion which is divided by column group. The user would be able to alter the filter type for given columns and so on.

An alternative would be to have a drop-down where they could select a field, then add criteria for that field. They could then add another field and so on. It would still be nice to be able to select the type of criteria to use for each field (gte, lte, etc).

You have done such an excellent job creating the filtering capabilities that it is almost impossible to duplicate what you have right now.

My clients deal with large grids with hundreds of columns, and it is difficult to scroll across and find the proper columns.

I appreciate your assistance with this.
« Last Edit: September 01, 2022, 08:18:24 am by entwine.llc.wi »

entwine.llc.wi

  • Pro Enterprise
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Consultant
    • View Profile
Re: Creating a criteria panel
« Reply #3 on: September 20, 2022, 03:08:22 am »
Hi,

I was just wondering if there was any news on this question. 

I was looking at your demos and thought perhaps I could use a technique like is used here: https://paramquery.com/pro/demos/filter

Is that the best way to approach this?

Regards

paramvir

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5645
    • View Profile
Re: Creating a criteria panel
« Reply #4 on: September 23, 2022, 05:44:35 pm »
[ Only Pro members may read this post. ]

entwine.llc.wi

  • Pro Enterprise
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Consultant
    • View Profile
Re: Creating a criteria panel
« Reply #5 on: September 24, 2022, 12:59:44 am »
Thank you! I'm sure your version will be better than mine, but I will probably give it a go myself as well.